ONIXEDIT Server stores ONIX metadata (2.1 or 3.0) in isolated repositories called "catalogues". Only the Server administrator is allowed to define catalogues. To do so, he must use the Preferences module of ONIXEDIT Pro (menu Onix/Preferences or F10).



Once in the Preferences module, click on Server Edition tab, then Catalogues. You should see this screen:


To use ONIXEDIT Server Edition, you must create at least one catalogue. There is no limit on the number of catalogues you can create. The only limitation you may have concerns the number of titles you are authorized to define among all your catalogues (this limitation does not apply to ONIXEDIT Server "on premises").


To define a catalogue, you have to click on the New button:


When creating a catalogue, you must determine the ONIX standard (2.1 or 3.0) of your new catalogue:



This choice can't be reverted. It determines how the titles you will create in your new catalogue will be validated and, of course, which kind of ONIX files you will be able to read or save with that catalogue.


Once your choice is made, a new catalogue record will be added to the catalogue list:




To complete it, you will have to:

    1. give it a name;
    2. a contact (it may be you);
    3. and, optionally, other settings that you will find under the Actions menu:





Each time you create or modify a catalogue or its options, you will have to save your Preferences module to apply the modifications to ONIXEDIT Server. To do so, click on the Save button at the bottom of the Preferences window:




General Catalogue Options


Under the catalogue list, you will find one general catalogue option and a button:


    • Allow updates of titles from different catalogues when importing a metadata file: See section Allow updates on different catalogues.
    • Set next RecordReference value for Catalogues with Auto-Numbering activated - This button allows you to set the next sequence ID for catalogues with the auto-numbering option. By default, the next ID is 1, but you can set it to any higher value.



Deleting a catalogue


If ever you want to delete a catalogue, you have to clear its content first. You won't be authorized to delete a catalogue if it contains any titles. Fortunately, you don't have to delete titles one by one as there is a handy function that will help you clear a catalogue's content quickly. To delete a catalogue, proceed as follows:


    • Select the catalogue(s) you want to delete:


    • Click on the button "Clear selected catalogues" and confirm the action. Be careful, this operation is not reversible:


    • Once the catalogues are cleared, you can click on the Delete button and confirm the action: